• Passerelle du Rosel

    Installation of the footbridge conceived of in UHPC with a span of fifty metres.

  • Lecture for Casabella

    An online lecture organised by the architecture magazine Casabella. Thank you to Francesca Chiorino and Roberto Bosi for their invitation. Watch the video of the lecture here.

  • Lecture at the FHNW

    Catherine Gay presents the Grand Hotel du Cervin project at the University of Applied Sciences Muttenz in a video conference.

  • Martigny Highlands

    Studio Gay Menzel, degré Master MA2, EPFL

    The villages of Salvan, Ravoire and Chemin Dessus and their relationship to the city of Martigny form the backdrop of the summer semester. Contextual imaginary, proximity to the forest and timber construction will be central themes.

  • Delta Blues

    Götz Menzel's current studio at the HEIA Fribourg starts as part of the Joint Master of Architecture

    The object of our investigation will be the territory of the eastern shoreline of Lake Geneva and its immediate hinterland. Formerly a large swampland and home to the Rhone Delta, the territory is now constituted of multiple conditions juxtaposed in an apparently haphazard way: historic townships and shopping centers, the estuaries of rivers and canals and a highway, single familyhousing and industrial zones, agricultural production and the extraction of resources in the formof quarries and gas, amusement parks and a natural reserve.

    As any landscape, the site is dynamic, changing, partly mutilated, partly protected, presenting different habitats for humans, animals and plants. As a constant, the lingering presence of the high water table in this former swamp land is ubiquitous. The studio’s title “Delta Blues” testifies of the speculative attitude we have towards the site of our investigation. By referring to the geographic location of the Mississippi Delta it opens a first contextual imaginary stemming both from a foreign territory and the local site itself. The title is a promise and an anticipation of projects that shall reinforce or confer a new sense derived from landscape.

  • Round table at the SAM

    Accompanying its exhibition on the work of Paris-based Japanese architect Tsuyoshi Tane, the Schweizerisches Architektur Museum, SAM, is organising a discussion on the notion of context. With Tsuyoshi Tane, Emmanuel Christ and Catherine Gay. Moderated by Andreas Ruby. Watch the video of the event here.

  • Xstream Park

    The job site for a leisure hall starts in the commercial strip of Collombey

  • Casabella Continuità

    The magazine publishes the work of GayMenzel in their issue 916 dedicated to contemporary Swiss architecture, as well as that of Bakker & Blanc, Boltshauser Architekten, Caruso St-John with Bosshard Vaquer, Graber Pulver with Masswerk Architekten, Käferstein & Meister, LVPH, Mathis + Kamplade and Ted’A with Rapin Saiz

  • Grotte aux Fées

    Study for the restoration and transformation of the entrance building to the Grotte aux Fées. Perched above the Château de St-Maurice on a steep wooded slope, this 19th century building leads to a subterranean world in the heart of the mountain.

  • Nouveau quartier au centre de St-Germain, Savièse

    Progress on the construction site of the underground car park

  • Rosel footbridge

    Construction of molds

    The structure with a span of fifty metres, conceived of in ultra-high performance fibre-reinforced concrete (UHPC), will cross the former gravel pits between Martigny and Vernayaz. The convex section evolves at the extremities by widening, in a dynamic movement. In collaboration with Sollertia structural engineers.

  • Urban Legends, Martigny

    Catherine Gay Menzel is Visiting Professor at EPFL

    The approach of the Gay Menzel master studio seeks a narrative, derived from a contextual imaginary, confronting the site’s history and the aspirations of the narrator.

    Double exposure image by Noémie Zurbriggen and Antoine Iweins D'Eeckhoutte

  • Job site completion of the Grange aux Fontaines

    photographie par Philomène Hoël
  • Begnins

    Competition 1st prize

    Designing a street, a square and a building makes it possible to go beyond the design of an isolated object. It is an opportunity to define a social, architectural and vegetal frame for life - to conceive a true environment.

  • Visit of the ferry landing Le Bouveret

    Join us at Le Bouveret as part of the walk N°2, entitled "St-Gingolph la frontière", organized by LAC 20.21. From the CGN fleet to the chestnut grove with words and music.

    More info

• Passerelle du Rosel

    Pose de l’ouvrage en BFUP d'une portée de cinquante mètres, sur les gouilles du Rosel entre Martigny et Vernayaz.

  • Conférence Casabella

    Une conférence en ligne organisée par la revue d'architecture Casabella de Milan. Merci à Francesca Chiorino et Roberto Bosi de leur invitation. Regarder la vidéo de la conférence ici.

  • Conférence FHNW

    Catherine Gay présente le projet du Grand Hôtel du Cervin à la haute école de Muttenz en visio-conférence.

  • Martigny Highlands

    Studio Gay Menzel, degré Master MA2, EPFL

    Les villages de Salvan, Ravoire et Chemin Dessus et leur relation à la ville de Martigny constituent la toile de fond du semestre d'été. L'imaginaire contextuel, la proximité à la forêt et la construction bois seront des thèmes centraux.

  • Delta Blues

    Le studio actuel de Götz Menzel à l'HEIA de Fribourg commence dans le cadre du Joint Master of Architecture

    Le territoire de la rive orientale du lac Léman et son arrière-pays immédiat constitue l’objet de notre enquête. La grande plaine qui abritait jadis le delta du Rhône, anciennement marécageuse, est un territoire aujourd’hui constitué de multiples conditions juxtaposées de manière apparemment aléatoire : des bourgs historiques et des centres commerciaux, des estuaires de rivières et de canaux et une autoroute, des habitations unifamiliales et des zones industrielles, la production agricole et l’extraction de ressources sous forme de carrières et de gaz, des parcs d’attractions et une réserve naturelle.

    Comme tout paysage, le site est dynamique, changeant, en partie mutilé, en partie protégé, offrant différents habitats pour l’homme, la faune et la flore. La présence de la nappe phréatique à fleur de peau et liée à la nature marécageuse du périmètre est une constante.Le titre du studio, “Delta Blues”, témoigne de l’attitude spéculative que nous aurons à l’égard du site d’investigation. En se référant à la situation géographique du delta du Mississippi, il ouvre un premier imaginaire contextuel croisant un territoire avec un autre. Le titre est une promesse et une anticipation des projets qui renforceront ou confèreront un nouveau sens inspiré du paysage.

  • Table ronde au SAM

    Le Schweizerisches Architektur Museum, SAM, organise dans le cadre de l'exposition consacrée à l'architecte japonais établi à Paris Tsuyoshi Tane un débat sur le contexte. Avec Tsuyoshi Tane, Emmanuel Christ et Catherine Gay. Modération par Andreas Ruby. Voir la vidéo de l'événement ici.

  • Xstream Park

    Le chantier d’une halle de loisirs débute dans la zone commerciale de Collombey

  • Casabella Continuità

    Le magazine publie le travail de GayMenzel dans leur numéro 916 dédié à l’architecture contemporaine suisse, ainsi que celui de Bakker & Blanc, Boltshauser Architekten, Caruso St-John avec Bosshard Vaquer, Graber Pulver avec Masswerk Architekten, Käferstein & Meister, LVPH, Mathis + Kamplade et Ted’A avec Rapin Saiz

  • Grotte aux Fées

    Etude pour la restauration et transformation du bâtiment d’accueil de la Grotte aux Fées. Perché au-dessus du Château de St-Maurice sur un rocher boisé, ce bâtiment du 19ème conduit à un monde souterrain au cœur de la falaise.

  • Nouveau quartier au centre de St-Germain, Savièse

    Avancement du chantier du parking souterrain

  • Passerelle du Rosel

    Fabrication des moules en cours

    Ouvrage en BFUP d'une portée de cinquante mètres, sur les gouilles entre Martigny et Vernayaz. La section convexe évolue aux extrémités en s’évasant, dans un mouvement dynamique. En collaboration avec le bureau d'ingénieurs Sollertia.

  • Urban Legends, Martigny

    Catherine Gay Menzel est Professeur invitée à l’EPFL

    L’approche du studio Gay Menzel dans le cadre du Master recherche un narratif, issu d’un imaginaire contextuel, confrontant l’histoire du lieu et les aspirations du narrateur.

    Image exposition double par Noémie Zurbriggen et Antoine Iweins D'Eeckhoutte

  • Fin de chantier de la Grange aux Fontaines

    photographie par Philomène Hoël
  • Begnins

    Concours 1er prix

    Projeter un aménagement de rue, une place et un immeuble permet de dépasser la conception d'un objet isolé.
    C'est l'opportunité de définir un cadre de vie social, architectural et végétal - de penser un véritable environnement.

  • Visite du débarcadère du Bouveret

    Rejoignez-nous au Bouveret dans le cadre de la promenade N°2, intitulée "St-Gingolph la frontière", organisée par LAC 20.21. De la flotte CGN à la châtaigneraie, en mots et en musique.

    Plus d'info